The Best on Fifa from Each Year

Fifa has had some questionable ratings over the years, particularly for the likes of Gareth Barry and Emile Heskey.

But there is relatively little on the internet when you try to find out who was the best each year.

The FIFA96 – Fifa 2001 years were somewhat sketchy with a different points system, so we will not count them… but since 2002 Fifa really has taken off to become what is arguably the biggest sports franchise in world gaming.

So here goes

FIFA 2002 – Luis Figo (97)

Coming in at 97 points Luis Figo had just completed his acrimonious move to Real Madrid. Winning the Ballon d’or the year before showed with EA deemed him worthy of such a score.

FIFA 2003 – Oliver Kahn (95)

Fresh from being the best player at the 2002 World Cup, Kahn had cemented his place as the best keeper in the world, and maybe even the worlds best player. He came second in the 2002 ballon d’or, which is a record for any player between the sticks.

FIFA 2004 – Ronaldo (98)

The Brazilian one of course, scoring a hat-trick in the Champions League against Man Utd sent him on his way to securing the best ever rating on a FIFA game.

FIFA 2005 – Thierry Henry/Gianluigi Buffon (97)

The first tie on our list, the two players had been stars for their clubs in 2004 and with Henry on the cover he was bound to be up there. Honourable mention to Marcos of Plameiras, who somehow came in at 93.

FIFA 2006 – Ronaldinho/Iker Casillas (95)

The beginning of Ronaldinho’s reign where he would become the best dribbler on the game, another goalkeeper makes it to the top in the form of Iker Casillas. Though his career has somewhat gone downhill. He was at one point the very best.

FIFA 2007 – Wayne Rooney/Gianluigi Buffon (92)

The goalkeeper theme continues with Buffon yet again being the best on the game, accompanied by a young Wayne Rooney. The start of a harsher rating system by EA.

FIFA 2008 – Ronaldinho/Cristiano Ronaldo/Gianluigi Buffon (91)

Ronaldinho and Buffon get in yet again with Buffon picking up his third honour of being at the top. Cristiano however finally makes an appearance asa sign of whats to come.

FIFA 2009 – Cristiano Ronaldo/Iker Casillas (91)

Soon to be teammates at the Bernabeu, Ronaldo and Casillas were approaching their prime in 2009.

FIFA 2010 – Lionel Messi/Iker Casillas (90)

Messi enters the fray and he’s here to stay. Meanwhile Casillas somehow still stays up top.

FIFA 2011 – Lionel Messi (90)

The best in his own right, first to be a leader of the pack, ahead of everyone else, since 2004 with the somewhat chubbier Ronaldo.

FIFA 2012 – Lionel Messi (94)

With the peculiar front cover of Jack Wilshere, Messi is the first to reach 94 since 2006 as the quality of players improves again.

FIFA 2013 – Lionel Messi (94)

Guardiola’s Barcelona create what you could describe as an era, as Messi asserts himself as the longest reigning ‘best player’. Cristiano Ronaldo  can only watch on with envy as he trails on a pitiful 92.

FIFA 2014 – Lionel Messi (94) 

Same old story yet again with Messi and Bale now gracing the cover.

FIFA 2015 – Lionel Messi (93)

Signs of a decline, as Cristiano closes the gap to just one point at 92, Arjen Robben also closes in at 90.

FIFA 2016 – Lionel Messi (94)

And we are up to date, amazingly taking the title 7 years in a row, we are up to date with Lionel truly the king of FIFA.

FIFA 2017 – Leave your thoughts in the comments below







One comment

  1. footiegaz · July 5, 2016

    omg I didn’t know lionel messi won so many times! I mean I know he’s good but thats crazy


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s